“I want to be open minded…”

“…but not so much that my brains fall out.”

-Chaplin Powers

(Title directly taken from Getting By)

On my campus I am part of an interfaith group, and this was one of the last things said at our meeting last night. The discussion was one of my favorites, so when Cami asked me to write the post about it for Earth Spirit I gladly agreed. The discussion was mainly over a lecture by Eboo Patel that some members attended last week. I was unable to attend, but from what I heard he’s an amazing speaker and well worth listening to, if you have the opportunity and the time.

The ideas about interfaith intrigued me, especially hearing some of the other viewpoints from the group. Names of the other members elude me, so I apologize in advance for my lack of attribution.

“We can all sit at the same table. I can look across the table and think you’re going to Hell, but we can sit there and get along.”

This above all else rubbed me the wrong way last night. I spent a good portion of the hour working this over in my mind. My problem with it is this: What gives a human being the right to judge their fellow humans? How can someone sit and look at someone else and condemn them based on what they hold true in the world? There is a measure of truth in (most) every religion/spiritual path, so what dictates that there is only one correct one and the rest of us are doomed?

I understand the idea of an absolute book of truth. I have  many problems with this idea, but that’s an entirely different discussion. I’m not out to tell anyone that their views are wrong, I just can’t wrap my mind about humans having the right to judge one another.

In my opinion, part of being Eclectic is accepting that next to no one will believe the same things you do. Does this mean the rest of the world is wrong and condemned to an afterlife/next life of suffering? No, absolutely not. In fact, if that were the case then the one ‘correct’ person would likely be the only miserable one of the entire group. Not everyone can be wrong, it just isn’t possible. With all the viewpoints, all the opinions, all the ideas, there has to be truth somewhere. And that truth could very well be different for each and every person on this planet.

No matter a person’s beliefs though, it is necessary to be able to cooperate across faith groups. I take this as a hugely important step in negating some of the misunderstandings and hatred that has been present for…what’s an appropriate time frame? Centuries?

All in all I have to agree with Cami, my brains have already fallen out. I’m willing to accept that something completely different from my own beliefs, and even condemning my own beliefs, is right. Just not right for me. I can’t justify looking at someone and telling then that everything they hold true is a lie. I can’t. I don’t have that right. I can argue points, I can disbelieve it myself, I can even think it’s insane – and believe me, I will – but I can’t look at someone and say that they’re unquestionably wrong.

~Crimsette

(Also, check out the sister post to this one: “I want to be open minded…” on Getting By)